HERBS

I started a small herb garden this summer.  I didn’t expect much with my lack of green thumbs & a new puppy who likes to dig.  Despite the odds; basil, parsley, and mint grew and grew. Now, what do to with all the wonderful herbs.  I’ve found some ideas on PINTEREST (of course, where else?), love pinterest!  I pruned back the plants, gave all the leaves a wash, then froze them in ice-cube trays.  Some with water and some with olive oil.

Peppers and Herbs

My little helper

My little helper

Love him.

Love him.

Leaves clipped and washed

Leaves clipped and washed

Orange Mint

Orange Mint

Parsley

Parsley

Sweet Basil

Sweet Basil

Spicy Globe Basil

Orange Spicy Globe Basil

These I froze the Mint in water that had boil then cooled. I think that means the ice will be clear… not sure but either way these babies will be great in any summer tea!

All ready for the freezer.  I froze half the spicy globe basil in water and half in olive oil.  Some for stove top cooking and some for soups and drinks.

Freezer Time.

I’m leaving them in the freezer overnight and will share how they turn out soon.  TO BE CONTINUED.

Leave a Reply

